Vacation Celebration

I didn't even have to lengthen the seatbelt!

I didn’t even have to lengthen the seatbelt!

Last weekend my daughter and I went to New York City.  We both needed a vacation.  You might recall I had surgery rather than going on my last one.  I could do a travel-log blog.  I could carry on about all the amazing food we ate.  But the best part of this trip for me was celebration how different things are from the last time Karina and I went to NYC – 4 years ago.

I had my 9 month visit with the bariatric surgeon before we left for the airport.  I am essentially at my post surgery goal weight!  All the more reason for me to notice how much is different in my life.  I had a goal (from February) to sit in a plane seat and buckle the seatbelt without an extender.  Not only did I do that, but I was capable of sitting in an exit row!

It's been at least 10 years (closer to 15!) since I've gone out dancing

It’s been at least 10 years (closer to 15!) since I’ve gone out dancing

The last time we were in NYC it was pretty early to bed.  I wasn’t sleeping well and I tired easily.  This time we got settled into the hotel by 10 and Karina was ready to go out on the town.  She opted for salsa dancing and I was game to tag along.  I even managed a dance or two.

One of the things that amazed me from this trip was not just how much I walked, but how willing I was to walk.  Last time even walking to the subways was often too much, and we’d flag a cab.  This time I wouldn’t bother to get on the subway if where I was heading was just the next station.  I’d walk.  Last time I couldn’t even go through the turnstiles.  I was too big.  This time I only struggled when I had to climb up 3 flights of stairs.

Waiting in line at Grimaldi's wasn't nearly as tough this time either.

Waiting in line at Grimaldi’s.

One of our “must do’s” on this trip was to walk across the Brooklyn Bridge.  We did it before, stopping to rest several times along the way and flagging a cab as soon as we stepped into Brooklyn to take us to Grimaldi’s Pizza (just under the bridge).  This time we started at Grimaldi’s and then walked.

We crossed the bridge in less than ½ the time we’d taken before – in spite of the crowds.  Not only did we walk across the bridge, but we continued to walk down to Battery Park and the 9/11 Memorial.  Exhausted with sore feet by the time I got on the train, but exceptionally proud of the accomplishment.

..

.

.

.

..

Brooklyn Bridge Before

Brooklyn Bridge Before

.

Brooklyn Bridge After

Brooklyn Bridge After

.

.

.

.

..

.

.

.

 

 

We did plenty of other things as well.  We went to some Broadway shows.  We spent an evening at Comic Strip Live.  We had a fabulous dinner at Felidia.   Karina spent a day at Coney Island while I shopped and took in a matinée of It’s Only A Play.

The poster suggested a selfie, so I gave it a shot.

The poster suggested a selfie, so I gave it a shot.

We snuck in another show together, A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder.   We even went on a walking tour!

It was  a grand trip and a great way to celebrate hitting that post surgery goal.  I’ve got a way to go in terms of the new life-style.  There was a lot of leftover food in the hotel room when we departed!  My eyes are still bigger than my stomach, and exercise isn’t going to come as naturally at home.  Even so, this trip may serve as a kick-start.  If nothing else it will help me remember what I am capable of doing.

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on April 27, 2015, in Bio, grattitude and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I am so happy for you.

  2. Congratulations! It sounds like a grand trip.

  3. You look amazing, Lisa!! I’m glad you were able to go to NYC, but I’m THRILLED you could enjoy it as much as you did. Reading this wore me out. 🙂

Please feel free to leave a comment!

