Autumn

PART_1411156911626_20140919_124335With the Fall equinox upon us I’ve started to notice the signs of autumn creeping up.   The leaves are just beginning to turn.  The trees that have been severely stressed by our odd weather are further along, but the majority are just hinting at colors.

That stress is definitely in the air.  One day the highs are barely above 60F  the next they’re well into the 70’s.  Mornings are cool, almost cold when they are damp.  There’s been hard frost further north and it would not be unseasonable to see some here in the city.  It’s difficult to dress for such unpredictable, changeable weather.PART_1411157001023_20140919_124008

.

.

.

.

.

The sun shines, equal with the darkness.  It still carries warmth with its light,  but that warmth seems more focused.  It gets hot in the car, if it’s in the direct sun, but the warmth doesn’t creep past the edges of the shadows of the tree line.PART_1411156928515_20140919_124253-2

I’ve had a fire or two in the fireplace, trying not to turn on the heat.  It’s difficult to crawl out of bed when the temperature in the house is below 65.   When I do turn on the furnace (because it’s impossible to get out of a warm tub when the air is that cold) I try to remember to turn it off again.  Sometimes I get to wondering why I’m so hot before it occurs to me I’ve forgotten.PART_1411156884393_20140919_124529

At least with the heat on the air is filtered.  The cool and damp is ideal for mold – one of my worst allergies.  It will get worse before it gets better as leaves fall into mulch.  Soon I’ll be begging for the hard freeze, but I wouldn’t begrudge a few more weeks of summer weather after. PART_1411156845480_20140919_124552

Happy Autumnal Equinox!

 

Previous Equinox blogs:

Darkness

Harvest

Balance

 

 

 

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on September 22, 2014, in Bio, fall, magic, seasonal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Happy equinox to you, Lisa! I know what you mean about crawling out of bed when it’s below 65. No fun at all. Wishing you a beautiful fall with many beautiful leaves.

  2. Blessings of the Equinox Tide and wishing you a fruitful Mabon.

  3. A thunderstorm just blew through here, Lisa. Fall temperatures tomorrow. Not as Fall as your equinox, but still. 🙂

  4. If only I could huddle in my blankets all winter. The fall weather is welcoming after a long hot summer. It’s the cold that gets me.

  5. You’re cold where you are? I’m broiling, which is why I have the AC on. But that gets expensive, too, so I’m trying to keep the temperature high. But we’ve had desert like weather here. Hot and dry in the 80s and 90s. I’m waiting for more fall-like weather. I would give anything to have to bundle up! It’s easier to put on layers rather than take them off.

    • I’m a firm believer in bundling rather than having to take off – after all you can only go so far with off! You are getting hot and dry, too dry! But cold to you and I are very, very different things. We still haven’t had a good freeze in the city, though it’s come close these past few nights.

  1. Pingback: Good Tired | Spiral Visions

  2. Pingback: Fall Equinox | Spiral Visions

Please feel free to leave a comment!

